On A Mat Near You: Meet Barb

We are pleased to introduce to you our lovely TriYoga teacher Barb “Bhavani” Knabb.  Here are a few Q&A’s to learn more about our fellow “flow-er”.BarbMeditationWoodsIMG_1530

How did you find TriYoga or did TriYoga find you? Were you practicing yoga before TY?

 
I found TriYoga in West Chester, summer 1996.  I was in physical discomfort from running and an aerobics with weights program.  I knew of yoga, and had wanted a practice for a long time.  I’d tried books, tapes and nothing connected with me.  I felt I needed a person, a teacher.  I knew I was hOMe with my first TriYoga class.  I asked what my homework was & returned the next week & all the weeks since then.
 

Where do you find your inspiration to roll out the mat regularly?

Daily practice is wonderful.  It doesn’t have to be long and involved, I just have to show up.  I felt benefits from practice after a few weeks in 1996, and never wanted to go backwards, towards pain.  I never regret spending time on the mat.
 
What is one of your favorite memories with your practice? with Kaliji?
 
I first met Kaliji in the Berkshires in October, 1999 when she offered a Prana Vidya weekend workshop.  I was dumbstruck when she approached me, and deeply impressed by her warmth & how comfortable and safe I felt in her presence & in the workshop.  That weekend I learned that Teacher Training would be offered to deepen one’s own practice.  I signed up.
 
How would you describe your teaching approach with TriYoga?
 
Hmmm, curious question.  I love Basics.  Follow the rhythm & flow of breath & energy.  Economy of motion and words.
 
What gets you excited about life? Favorite activities outside of TriYoga?
 
I love to walk.  Especially in the woods with my husband, with steady rhythmic breath & pace.  Listening & observing nature.  A walking meditation.
 
I love to cook whole food.  We make our breads & crackers as much as possible.  We grow many vegetables, and eat from the garden as much as we can.  Today’s salad was spinach & lettuce from the garden – in November!
 
This winter will mark 37 years my husband and I have been together.  We started out baking bread and hiking, and we’re still baking bread and hiking.  Living with my husband keeps me excited about life.
 
Interview by Rebecca Swinden
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

